top of page



PRESIDENT   Lisa Lebofsky, MFA 2006

Lisa is a nomadic plein air painter. She paints the susceptibility of nature, correlating it with human vulnerabilities. Lisa travels to areas around the globe that are subject to the impacts of climate change, to learn from the landscape and its inhabitants. In addition to solo and group exhibitions nationally and internationally, she is the recipient of several awards and residencies. She is currently based in New York City as Director of DFN Projects while continuing to explore and paint.

Photo Placeholder.jpg

VICE PRESIDENT   Michelle Doll, MFA 2006

Born in Canton, Ohio, Michelle received her BFA from Kent State University. She is an adjunct professor at the New Jersey City University while also teaching private lessons. She has taught numerous workshops in cities such as Rome, Oslo and New York. In 2019 she received a fellowship from the New Jersey State Council on the Arts. Among other awards, Michelle received the Prince of Wales / Forbes Foundation Travel Grant in 2006, was granted Artist in Residence at Eden Rock on St. Barth’s in 2008 and received The Bennett Prize Honorable Mention in 2018. Michelle currently lives and works in Hoboken, NJ.

20200727 Headshot Charis Carmichael Brau

SECRETARY   Charis J Carmichael Braun, MFA 2008


Charis grew up in New Ulm, MN. In 2020, she received grant from the Huntington Arts Council for her Beekeeper Portrait Project. She was chosen as a Sing For Hope Piano Artist in 2016. As an arts administrator, Charis has managed two galleries in New York City, worked for the New York Academy of Art, the Art Students League of New York (at their artist residency program: The League Residency at Vyt), and Edward Hopper House Museum & Study Center. Charis currently lives on Long Island, NY.


TREASURER   Eric Price, MFA 2019 

Eric is a Stephen and Palmina Pace Foundation, Inc. board member and served on the the Advisory Board of the Fine Arts Work Center, Provincetown, MA. Prior to becoming a full time painter, Price held executive management and marketing positions in book publishing. Price lives in New York City and Provincetown, MA with his husband. Eric is represented by the Greg Salvatori Gallery in Provincetown, MA.

Elections for AANYAA Cabinet Officers are held biennially in June*; the Cabinet votes in the Advisors at any time throughout the year. Are you interested in becoming
an Advisor or an Officer? Let us know!

* The next election for AANYAA Cabinet officers will be held in June 2025.


The Advisory Board for the Alumni Association of the New York Academy of Art is a team of volunteer alumni who donate their time to support the endeavors of the AANYAA. What differentiates the Advisory Board from the AANYAA Cabinet is that the aforementioned Cabinet, not the alumni community at large, votes these volunteers into their Advisory position.


Due to this distinction, the Advisory Board members may choose the duration of their terms, as well as the amount of time they choose to volunteer per week. Each Advisory Board member must donate one hour per week at minimum and must attend at least one AANYAA meeting per month to hold their title.


While the nature and rigor of the Advisory Board members’ duties may also vary depending on the needs of the Cabinet, one quality remains consistent: their passion for voluntary support for the Cabinet, and, in turn, their fellow alums through the AANYAA.

If you would like to be a part of the AANYAA Advisory Board, let us know!



Michael Smith, MFA 2006


Michael is the Director of Alumni Affairs at NYAA, and is also the Director of Operations at NYAA. He graduated cum laude from the Academy, and his work is in the collection of HRH The Prince of Wales. 


We are proud of the passion our friends and colleagues have dedicated to their fellow Academy Alums over the years.  

Presidents Emeriti
Tabitha Whitley, Cory Dixon, Charis Carmichael Braun, Debra Goertz

Vice Presidents Emeriti: 
Carlos Bautista, Bonnie DeWitt, Renee Bovenzi

Secretaries Emeriti:
Lisa Lebofsky, Elizabeth Misitano, Mara Kujil 

Treasurers Emeriti: 
Zachary Lank, Carrie-Ann Bracco, Christopher Law, Barbara Israel Bortniker

Carrie-Ann Bracco, Charis Carmichael Braun, John Carruthers, Bonnie DeWitt, Heidi Elbers, Michelle Doll, Brooks Frederick, Michael Gibson, Debra Goertz, Seth Ruggles Hiler, Theresa Kasun, Mara Rokach Kujil, Lisa Lebofsky, Breanna Cee Martins, Tun Myaing, Chris O’Connor, Eric Price, Lauren Amalia Redding, Elena Rodz, Jacque White, Robert Dale Williams, Jeffrey Wood

bottom of page